Tags

, , ,


Quick LinksCharles Spurgeon once stated about Calvinism:

 The old truth that Calvin preached, that Augustine preached, that Paul preached, is the truth that I must preach to-day, or else be false to my conscience and my God. I cannot shape the truth; I know of no such thing as paring off the rough edges of a doctrine. John Knox’s gospel is my gospel. That which thundered through Scotland must thunder through England again.

I have always stated that if you truly understand the depravity of man (a truth that can be shown over and over to be true throughout humanity as well as in Scripture), then the doctrines of grace fall into place.  It is not so much that the doctrines of Calvin are true than that the doctrines of grace are Biblical and therefore are the truth.

Once understood in the light of Scripture, the doctrine of unconditional election makes sense and can be seen on almost every page of the New Testament.  Once understood and brought to heart, these doctrines will free you to give God the glory and spur you on to greater evangelistic endeavors (contrary to popular belief).

Clint Archer writes the following two articles which are must reads on Total Depravity and Unconditional Election.

Despicable Me? The Doctrine of Total Depravity

Pick Me, pick me: Unconditional Election

