Tags

,


Horatio Spafford may not be a name that you recognize.  You may have never even heard of him.  However, this man who was born in 1828 has made a significant impact on my life.

Spafford was a lawyer in Chicago who had his only son die at the age of four from scarlet fever in 1871.  He then had a recent investment in real estate reduced to ashes by the Great Fire of Chicago in October of 1871.  Back to back his only son had died then he and his family were ruined financially.

Then in 1873 he planned to travel to Europe with his family on the SS Ville due Havre.  He was delayed on business due to zoning problems that followed from the Great Chicago Fire so he sent his family ahead of him.  While crossing the Atlantic, the ship collided with Loch Earn, another vessel, and all four of Spafford’s daughters died in the rapidly sinking ship.  His wife survived and sent him a famous telegram that only stated, “Saved alone…”

As Spafford traveled to meet his grieving wife and passing the spot where his daughters had died, he wrote down words to a song that would forever change my life.  It is now called It Is Well With My Soul.

In times of joy, in times of sorrow, in times of success, in times of heartache, in times of stress, I often listen to this song.  It strengthens me to understand that nothing can compare to the love that I have in Christ…in the midst of pure evil or devastation, I can know that His Hand of providence is working His good plan for His glory alone.

I will leave you with one verse of the song…the verse that is etched in my heart and brain and encompasses why “it is well with my soul.”

My sin, oh the bliss of this glorious thought.  My sin, not in part but the whole, is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more, praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

