Amazon recently announced that they bought a company named Kiva for a cool $775 million dollars (in cash).  When I showed my students this video to illustrate to them the world they are about to enter in a few short years, their only sentiment was, “Those robots are taking someone’s job?!?”  To which I replied, “Yes, yes they are.”  My students will have to understand they need to work to separate themselves not from other people, but from robots as well.  They need to work to become problem-solvers, inventors, innovators, and engineers.  They can not settle to do what was once good, honest jobs that can be simply replaced by a robot.  And we can not afford to slow down technology down to continue to give someone a job to do.

And so without further ado, here is the honest work of a warehouse robot.  Oh yeah, I love Amazon and this is such a cool idea.

